tattoo care guide.

8 09 2008

You go in to get your first tattoo, its amazing! The artist did a beautiful job, your stoked. On your way home you realize you totally forgot to find out what the heck you are supposed to do with the dang thing, and all of your friends cell phones are broken! (I assume this is the reason people need to know)

For some reason I people message me all the time, asking how I care for my tattoos after I get them done. Now I am in no way a professional, I just have a lot of tattoos that until I found how I liked to go about caring for them I was I guess you could say shopping around.

Here is my ULTIMATE favorite way to deal with a new tattoo…

First of all when I am finished, my amazing artist (Jackie Dunn of Flying Pather) will wrap it up all nice for me. From that point on its up to you how you care for it.

Ingredients:

  • unscented soap
  • aquaphor healing ointment from eucerin
  • unscented lotion
  • a towl

After finishing up I keep the bandage on for a few hours, when I am around a clean bathroom, I wash up. I rinse the tattoo for a second and use the unscented soap to clean it. Then towel dry. For the first 3 days I use the aquaphor. I put it on 1-3 times a day and a VERY thin layer (if you can scrape it off with your nail, you put too much). In my opinion worse thing you can do while a tattoo is healing is put too much stuff on it (or go tanning then swimming) before putting any more on I wait until it is totally dried out. I also clean it once at night and in the morning. After those three days are up I switch to the unscented lotion and whenever it starts to feel dry or itchy I put that on.

Well, I hope that helped you guys out!

Let me know if you have questions.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 09 2008
yoso

Sounds like a fairly standard way.
I often had scalping when using the method above, especially for bigger surface. Which can be uncomfortable or damage the tattoo.

I have been doing like this for years, then went to Japan.

A new method over there for filled in tattoo (for outline the above is ok) seems to keep your tattoo wrapped for three days (using special transparent film that properly sticks to your skin. After three days wash it three times a day then use something like petroleum jelly. No scalping at all. The skin heals very well.

It is also recommended to take a bath twice a day for 10 minutes, really good for tattoo.

Also, don’t worry about hot water, even when the tattoo is fresh.

Hope this helps too.

yoso

9 09 2008
styletto

Thanks for this!

I have never heard about this film? You are supposed to keep it on for 3 days?
Seems good for the tattoo healing process but the bacteria factor sounds kind of scary.
But then again if you saw it in Japan (they probably have that worked out)….

Hopefully that catches on out here, the ultimate care would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

